Concealed Handgun License

 

General Information

 

You must be at least 21 years of age.

Your principle residence (own or lease) must be in Deschutes County to be eligible for a concealed handgun license.

Provide proof of residency by showing a valid Oregon Drivers License or documentation that you own or lease property in Deschutes County at the time of application.

Pass a background check. The purpose of the background check is to verify that all required paperwork has been completed. In addition, if the applicant meets all criteria specified, the Sheriff may deny a concealed handgun license if the Sheriff has reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant has been or is reasonably likely to be a danger to self or others, or to the community at large, as a result of the applicant’s mental or psychological state, as demonstrated by past pattern of behavior or participation in incidents involving unlawful violence or threats of unlawful violence (ORS166.293 (2)). A criminal record check, including the National Crime Information Center (NCIC), a driving record check with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles, a check with the Oregon Department of Corrections, and a mental health check will be completed.

Pay a non-refundable processing fee to cover the costs associated with the fingerprinting and background checks. This fee is due upon submission of the completed application.

 Frequently Asked Questions

  1. How long does it take to get my permit?

    ORS 166.292 states that the Sheriff’s Office has 45
    days, from the date of application, to approve or
    deny an application. We will mail either the permit
    (in the self-addressed stamped envelope that you
    provided), or a letter stating reasons for denial,
    within that time.
     
  2. How long is the permit valid?

    The permit is valid for four (4) years from the date
    of issuance, unless cancelled or revoked during
    that time. A renewal notice will be sent to you for
    your convenience.
     
  3. What do I do if I move?

    ORS 807.110(3) i requires a DMV license
    contain the residence address of the
    person to whom the license is issued. You
    are required to change your CHL address
    within the same 30 days of moving.
    Failure to do so could result in revocation.

    If you have moved to, or within, Deschutes
    County, you must change your address with DMV
    prior to changing your CHL address. You will be
    asked to bring in your valid Oregon Driver’s
    License that reflects your new address.

    If you move out of Deschutes County you must
    apply in the county in which you reside.
     
  4. When do I need to carry my CHL with me?

    You MUST carry your CHL on your person
    whenever you carry a concealed handgun.
    Failure to do so could result in a charge of
    Unlawful Possession of a Firearm, a Class A
    Misdemeanor.

Oregon statutes allows the Sheriff to deny a permit:

If the Sheriff has reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant has been or is reasonably likely to be a danger to self or others, or to the community at large, as a result of the applicant’s mental or psychological state, as demonstrated by past pattern of behavior or participation in incidents involving unlawful violence or threats of unlawful violence.

If you believe that you are eligible and may qualify for an exception, you may petition the courts. Then, bring the appropriate court documentation, dates, and explanation of the circumstances with you at the time of your appointment.